April 14, 2021
Recent News

CNF Confirmed Delegation Members for Rangoon Meeting

03 December 2012: The Chin National Front (CNF) has confirmed members of its peace committee who will be attending the Union-level meeting with Burma’s government in Rangoon this week.

In an official statement, CNF said its 20-member delegation left its headquarters for Rangoon along the No. 2 Indo-Burma Trade Road today and would fly to the former capital from Kalaymyo of Sagaing region for the 7-8 December peace talks.

The CNF delegation led by Secretary General Pu Zing Cung includes Pu Thomas Thang Nou, Pu Paul Sitha, Dr. Sui khar, Salai Kipp Kho Lian, Dr. Lian Hmung Sakhong, Pu H.C Ral Hnin, Pu Thang Yen, Pu Zo Tum Hmung, Pu Thang Ning Kee, Pu Bernard L. Chhangte, Colonel Solomon, Salai Thla Hei, Pu Hau kang, Pu Thawng Za Lian, Pu Ngai Ja Thang, Colonel Than Tun, Major Sang Lian Thang, Major Kha Pawng and Pu Thet Ni.

“Our discussion will focus on issues related to Chin national, military, development, social and cultural matters in addition to other necessary points from the first Union-level meeting agreement,” said Dr. Sui Khar, a CNF spokesperson.

CNF’s statement said the whole discussion would be conducted within the framework of the six-point peace process of ethnic groups agreed during the 2012 ethnic nationalities conference for stability of peace in the country.

Moreover, CNF stressed re-affirmation of its position on the three main principles of the organization, saying it is committed to securing self-determination of the Chin people, restoration of democracy, and establishment of federal Union of Burma.

The CNF delegation is set to hold meetings in Rangoon with Chin political parties, universities students, and community and church leaders from 9-12 December 2012.

A series of public consultations have also been scheduled to take place with the Chin delegation in Falam, Hakha, Thantlang and Tedim towns of Chin State as well as in Kalay-Kabaw areas of Sagaing region.

The statement today said that the CNF delegation is to hold a separate meeting with Chin State government as parts of their peace talk process.

Invited to attend the second Union-level meeting as an independent body of observers are:

  • Kristine Gould, PACRIM Research Associates, USA
  • Mr. Yohei Sasakawa, Chairman, Nippon Foundation, Japan
  • Mr. Yiji Mori, Nippon Foundation, Japan
  • Ms. Suzuka Yoshida, Nippon Foundation, Japan
  • Charles Petrie, Myanmar Peace Support Initiative
  • Mai Chin Chin, Shalom Foundation, Rangoon and
  • Salai Bawi Lian Mang, Executive Director of Chin Human Rights Organization

Formed on 20 March 1988 following student-led uprising across the country, the Chin National Front held its preliminary ceasefire meeting with peace committee of President Thein Sein-led government of Burma in January this year.

Van Biak Thang
[email protected]

Related Posts