April 13, 2021

Candidates confirmed for by-election in Chin State

26 January 2017 — The Election Commission of Chin State announced the names of candidates who will be contesting the upcoming by-election, scheduled for April this year, in Thantlang Township.

Za Tlem, a former female MP who did not win in the 2015 election, of the Chin National Democratic Party; Zo Peng, who lost in the 2015 election, of the Union Solidarity and Development Party; and Bawi Khing, a new candidate of the National League for Democracy, are confirmed as candidates for the April 1 by-election, according to the State Election Commission.

They will be contesting to fill the vacant seat of Second Vice President Henry Van Thio, who previously served as an Amyotha Hluttaw (House of Nationalities) MP after winning the Chin State No. 3 constituency in the last election.

The Commission said that other political parties such as the Chin League for Democracy, the National Union Party and the Ethnic Nationalities Development Party would not contest and that there was no independent candidate.

When asked about the new vacant seat of Hung Kheng MP, who recently passed away in the motorbike accident, Lin Kyaw, head of the State Election Commission, told the Chinland Post: “It will not be included in this forthcoming by-election.”

According to the announcement, candidates can start their 60-day campaign period from Monday, 30 January, to 30 March 2017.#

Related Posts